The online portal for paying your Smyrna Utilities statement will be unavailable beginning at 4:30pm today, March 19th, until about midnight. After the update is complete, you will be able to sign in to our updated online system.
Smyrna Municipal Court now hears juvenile traffic citation cases.
Court is traditionally held on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 3:30 pm. You must check your traffic citation for any changes.
A parent or guardian is required to attend court with the juvenile.
Be prepared to provide proof of insurance, registration or any other citation corrections.
The dress code of the Smyrna Municipal Court is strictly enforced.
Traffic School is located at 400 Enon Springs Road, East at the Smyrna Justice Center.
POLICY FOR SMYRNA MUNICIPAL COURT TRAFFIC SCHOOL
You MAY attend Smyrna Municipal Court Traffic School in order to keep the moving offense from being reported to the Tennessee Department of Safety.
By doing so you are entering a conditional plea of guilty. You are acknowledging that, without force, or threats, or promises by any person, and without prior discussion between myself and the judge. You attest that: I do hereby voluntarily plead guilty to the offense with which I am charged in this case. I understand that my compliance with the terms for credit for traffic school will result in the points being kept off of my driving record and that my failure to comply with the terms for credit for traffic school will result in my being found guilty of said charge, and I will be required to pay the fine, litigation taxes, and court costs. Please be aware of the following rules:
If you desire to attend the Smyrna Municipal Court’s Traffic School, tuition must be paid when you register for the class. You will need to pay at the Court Clerk’s Office—located at 400 Enon Springs East Smyrna, Tennessee 37167 Monday – Friday 8:00am – 4:30pm. The tuition for the class is eighty-five dollars ($85.00) plus a seventy-five dollar $75.00 court cost diversion. Payment will not be accepted at class!
If you desire, you may attend another state-approved traffic school (on-line schools are not acceptable). You will be given a two month (2) compliance date during which time you must register and attend one of the state- approved traffic schools. You must then present to the Smyrna Municipal Court Clerk’s Office a CERTIFICATE OF ATTENDANCE showing successful completion of the class. At that time you will be required to pay the $75 Court Cost Diversion Fee. The clerk will then notify the Tennessee Department of Safety that the moving violation that you were charged with has been satisfied by the Traffic School attendance.
You are eligible to attend Traffic School once within a 12 month period. You must inform the court clerk if you have been to any Traffic School within the last 12 months. DRIVER’S HISTORY IS CHECKED. Those failing to accurately inform the clerk will not receive credit for the class and will be considered as pleading guilty. By signing the signup sheet, with name as shown on the traffic citation, you are confirming that you have not attended any certified Traffic School within the past 12 months. The judge in court gives the only exception to this rule.
If attending the Smyrna Traffic School, you must appear on your scheduled traffic school date.NOTE: To receive credit for attendance, you must sign in with the class instructor exactly the same way that you signed the signup sheet with the court clerk. If the clerk’s office cannot match the names on the class sign in sheet with the names on the signup sheet, credit for the class may not be given. You will not be given credit for attending the wrong class.
No children under the age of 14 may attend as visitors.
Procedure for rescheduling Smyrna Municipal Court’s Traffic School – If you fail to attend Traffic School you are allowed to reschedule your class one time by providing the proper documentation to the court clerk’s office within five (5) business days. Failure to do this will be that the receiver of the citation will be considered as pleading guilty and the ticket will be sent to the Tennessee Department of Safety. For additional information, contact the clerk’s office at (615) 355-5732. For inclement weather cancellation /notification, call 615-355-5854.
TRAFFIC SCHOOL IS NOT AN OPTION FOR A HOLDER OF A COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE (CDL).
All non-moving violations listed on the traffic citation are due and payable on or before the compliance date on the citation.
NOTE: The rules are slightly different for a Juvenile Offender that has been sentenced by the Judge to Traffic School. See the clerk for any differences.